A Brief History of the Polytechnic

The Bayelsa State Polytechnic, Aleibiri was established in 2014 by the Bayelsa State Government through the Bayelsa State Polytechnic (ESTABLISHMENT) law, 2014. The law was passed by the State House of Assembly and assented to by the Executive Governor of the State, His Excellency (Hon) Henry Seriake Dickson on the 30th day of April, 2014. The Bayelsa State Polytechnic (AMENDMENT) Law, 2018 was also amended and enacted by the State House of Assembly and signed into law on 2nd August 2018. The Pioneer Rector of the Polytechnic, Prof. Promise Mebine was appointed on the 4th day of December, 2017 by the Governor.

The Polytechnic was set up primarily to produce middle and higher level technical manpower for the nation’s economy. By its establishment, government desires that the nation’s drive towards technological development would be attained at a fast pace. The Polytechnic will provide courses of instruction, research and training in Science, Technology, Engineering, Commerce and Management and in other such fields of applied learning relevant to the industrial development of the State and Nigeria in the area of industrial, Agricultural production, distribution and for research in the development and adaptation of various techniques.

Location of the Polytechnic

The Bayelsa State Polytechnic is situated at Aleibiri town of Bolou Toru Creek in Ekeremor Local Government Area, with a distance of approximately 51km from Yenagoa, the Capital City. The Polytechnic is geographically located on Longitude 4.946 N and Latitude 5.684 E. The Polytechnic situated in Aleibiri Town can be accessed from Yenagoa through the Sagbama/Toru-Orua Road, and from Delta State through Bomadi Road.

Bayelsa State covers an estimated area of 10,773 square kilometers and lies at latitude 4.45’North and Longitude 6.05’East. It has a population of 1,704,515, (2006 Census) with a population density of 158 people per square kilometer. It accounts for 1.3% of Nigeria’s total population. Other major cities and towns are; Kaiama, Amassoma, Brass, Nembe, Ogbia,Odi, Otuoke, Sagbama, Oporoma, Sabagria. The local population engage in fishing and farming on a subsistence and commercial level. The Bayelsa State Government is otherwise the main employer of labour in the State.

The Principal Officers
  • Rector
  • Deputy Rector Administration
  • Deputy Rector, Academics
  • Registrar
  • Bursar
  • Polytechnic Librarian